Roses in Medieval Manuscripts

Resource slideshow

Rose #1

Showing image resource: Rose #1
The Chapelet is a discourse on the virtues of spiritual love. Five flowers are illuminated throughout from the 'garland of virginity': lily, viola, rose, marigold, and lily-of-the-valley. They symbolize the five virtues of Virginity: Virginity, Humility, Charity/Love, Patience, and Faith. The roses are associated here with the Virgin Mary, the thornless and mystical rose.
1 / 5
1 / 5

Resource list

5 resources. Showing results 1 through 5.